Review – Persil Cook with the Kids

As a busy family we are always on the look out for time saving hints and tips. Anything that makes my life easier is always welcome.  To that end Persil have launched a new harder working formula washing up liquid.  According to them it’s been “rigorously tested and scientifically proven so that for every bottle used, you can get an extra 1,400 plates sparkling clean. In the long run, not only will you be spending less money on washing-up, but thanks to the new proven, powerful and harder-working formula, you’ll also be spending less time. You’ve got enough on your plate to have to worry about cleaning plates, pot and pans. Put Persil to the test and the results will be sparkling.”

I was sent two bottles of the new formulation Persil washing up liquid with the task to get baking with T and not to worry about the mess.

orange-crush

Challenge accepted!  We signed up to the website http://www.persildishwash.co.uk/cookwiththekids/ watched the video http://youtu.be/ylk2bJzgPlg downloaded the pack and off we went.

I received these just before Easter so of course our first baking session had to be Egg Nests. Now normally when we do these I only have to do a quick wash of all the cooking materials as lets face it, there isn’t going to be much melted chocolate left on anything. But in the interests of giving it a good test I left all the spoons and bowls with chocolate on.

The sacrifices I have to make………..

I decided to do white and milk chocolate to see if that made a difference (and because white chocolate cornflake cakes are to die for).

As I am ever so slightly lazy and melt the chocolate in the microwave, I had to wash the jug in between the chocolates.

20140419_153610

I used one squeeze in the jug and hot water and gave it a wipe round with a cloth. As I would expect the chocolate came off easily and I didn’t need to put a lot of elbow grease in.

Normally I would be chasing after T with a cloth catching (eating) drips and smudges but this time I went with the flow.

20140419_152050  20140419_15185820140419_152410

I also decided to leave the bowls a while to let the chocolate harden to see how easily it would clean (the only time this has ever happened.

A quick squeeze, some hot water and a light scrub and the bowls were clean.  As an aside the smell of the orange Persil and the chocolate together was yummy!

The download pack from Persil contains ten tips for cooking with kids, some fun recipes and activities for the kids. Worth a look at for new ideas. It also kept T occupied and saved me from the incessant “Can we eat them yet Mummy?”

On a slight tangent I begrudge paying silly money for dishwasher tablets and have been known to use Starburst in my dishwasher in the week running up to pay day when I have run out.  I thought I would give the Persil a try, one squeeze into the tablet compartment and the dishes were just as clean, if not more clean than the Starburst.  Another handy tip I’ve picked up there.  I don’t know if Persil advise to use it in dishwashers but I’m sticking with it. Just don’t do what a “friend” did and put an extra squirt in the bottom of the machine, apparently that then gives you a nice lot of bubbles over your kitchen floor.  So I’m told…….

*I was sent two bottles of Persil for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

