Feature – Peterborough Voices

If someone says the word “Choir” to me I am transported back in time to my school days, stood on a bench at the back singing “Water of Life” and “Sing Hosannah”.  Celine Dion I am not.

So when I was invited to the Housewarming Party of Peterborough Voices, the women’s choir, at their new home of Broadway Theatre, I’ll admit I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.

I was pleasantly surprised. Starting with a rendition of “Moon River”, they moved onto “Wind Beneath My Wings” (one of my favourite songs ever) which actually made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Finishing with “The Trolley Song” which I had heard before but never actually realised what the name was.

We were then treated to two songs by Peterborough Youth Choir which was enchanting, finishing with an impressive song from the Peterborough Male Voice Choir.

Peterborough Voices were formed in 2011 after the “Sing for Life” project, where PMVC were asked to help set up a women’s choir.  Hoping to originally recruit 40 women to perform at a concert for Cancer Research, 220 applicants turned up at the auditions.  120 women sang at the concert with the late Bernie Nolan and afterwards wanted to continue singing together. Peterborough Voices was born!

pv_000

Directed by William Prideaux (who I couldn’t stop watching, it fascinates me directing and conducting) they are now preparing for their latest show “Saturday Night at the Movies” on Saturday 5th July at the Broadway Theatre.

A4PosterWeb_001

All three choirs, accompanied by the 46-piece Peterborough Festival Orchestra will be performing a salute to Hollywood’s greatest composers, with music from Harry Potter, Indiana Jones, Lord of the Rings, James Bond and many more.  If the songs are anything like the taster from the Housewarming Party then this promises to be an amazing night.

AIaEUwKg

They are also starting “Sing for Life” from scratch in June. 40 women are wanted of all ages and experience to sing in the charity concert in aid of Sue Ryder’s Hospice appeal. Check out the website www.peterboroughvoices.org.uk for further details.

Pictures courtesy of Peterborough Sings! website http://www.peterboroughmvchoir.org.uk/index.html

 

Leave a Reply

